Keep the Roller Hawks Rolling

The Roller Hawks are the Illawarra’s local wheelchair basketball team competing in the National Wheelchair Basketball League (NWBL).

The Roller Hawks first entered the league in 2001 and won their first championship in 2003 and again in 2011, 2012 and 2013;  we have produced 4 Paralympians in that time, and 3 World Championship Gold Medalists. 

Our 'disability', is that we are a group of volunteers. Our athletes are not contracted, nor are they paid to train or play. They all have regular day jobs, and training has to be scheduled into evenings and games played on weekends.

The Roller Hawks are also managed by a board of volunteers, who donate their time around their own work, family and study. 

In order for us to participate in the National League each year, we have to rely on income from grants, fund-raising and sponsorship. We have not been able to find a Naming Rights Sponsor for a few years, but have just managed thankfully to the generosity of small sponsorships and generous support from our local area.

We are in URGENT need for funds to allow us to finish the 2017 season, as we enter into the pointy end of the season. We are currently sitting in top spot on the ladder, with one more away trip, and a trip for the finals in the near future. 

Donations allow us to participate in the league - paying for flights, accommodation, car and van hire, referee payments, score bench and statisticians, as well as wheel technicians, extra wheel tubes and the ability for us to play in the national league.  
Whether you believe you have something little, medium or large to offer us, any help is greatly appreciated

Roller Hawks Achievements 2016
* NWBL Bronze medalists 2016
* Brett Stibners & Luke Pople named in the NWBL All-Star 5
* Five players attended the 3-Day Training Camp with the Australian Rollers
* Brett Stibners attended his 4th Paralympic Games
* Nick Scott named in the Australian U23 side and won bronze at the Kitakyushu Cup
* Brett Stibners named Wheelchair Sports NSW Athlete of the Year
* Nick Scott named Wheelchair Sports NSW Rookie of the Year
  • John Henry 
    • $50 
    • 57 mos
  • Brendan, Clare & Belle Tomkins 
    • $50 
    • 58 mos
  • AHM Health Insurance 
    • $200 
    • 58 mos
  • Karen Hodge 
    • $100 
    • 58 mos
  • Brian Gardner 
    • $50 
    • 58 mos
See all


James Williams 
North Wollongong NSW