JimmyDaGimp, Jim Davis & Polly

I was admitted to hospital 08/10/17. I have not been able to work after that date and I can not ever go back to any of my previous jobs or to live in my home off grid in remote roadless Port Protection on Prince of Wales Island, Alaska. I had my right leg amputated about 8 inches below my knee on 09/21/17.
I was discharged from hospital 10/12/17 and I have been living in a hotel at my own expense, going further into debt every day. A very good friend is helping me move into an apartment, but I need to have some modifications done to have the bathroom accessible to me in my wheelchair as well as modifications to the shower and toilet, a fridge, bed, other furniture and some repairs.
I have credit card debt and other bills to pay including medical co-pays, deductibles and out-of-pocket costs. There are also other modifications I need done to make the apartment handicap usable.
I have other expenses such as diabetes test strips and other medical and amputee necessary expenses. I already have a parrot for my shoulder and she is very low maintenance, but I would like to get her an eyepatch, a peg leg, a hook for her wingtip and a sword with scabbard. Despite set-backs, many frustrations and struggles to keep moving forward with my new life, I'm hanging in there. Laughter is the Best Medicine. I'm grateful for the care given to me by medical staff, saving my life and the prayers for me from people around the world. Thank you

  • Gabe DelGreco 
    • $10 
    • 37 mos
  • Mary van Dam 
    • $50 
    • 41 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $500 
    • 43 mos
  • Mark & Jackie Todd 
    • $100 
    • 44 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $25 
    • 45 mos
See all

Organizer

Jim Davis 
Organizer
Mud Bay, AK
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more