Jet Jack Home to Pommie Land!!!

Hello, 
My name is Jack Donovan-Calam and I am a 3 year old Rhodesian Ridgeback X boy from Australia. 

28785260_15225573980_r.jpeg

My History

I was found wandering lost and lonely in the bush in the middle of New South Wales by a kind truck driver in November 2016 and brought to the RSPCA Yagoona NSW to be saved. I was VERY underweight and extremely scared of people. I am more fearful of men and loud noises, unfortunately I haven't been able to talk about what happened to me before the RSPCA or tell you where I came from, so the lovely staff have just had to guess from my psychological scars and my physical behaviour.

I have had quite a journey with the RSPCA, I spent some time in Rehab out at the prison where there is a rehab scheme ongoing, and I spent a year in two different foster homes. My foster carers were so loving and caring and put a lot of effort into me, but I was really struggling to build my confidence up with people and I was still showing fearful behaviour and signs of not coping living with people, especially men and strangers. 

The wonderful staff at the RSPCA fought for me and I have made some best friends there including some of the Animal Attendants and members of the Behaviour Team who looked after me so well. I will be forever grateful to those who never gave up on me! I was nearly euthanised a few times due to the concern that I may never become habituated to living with people and therefore may never enjoy my life, it was a very worrying time for staff to see me so shut down and scared of life and they were perturbed about my welfare. 

28785260_15225574480_r.jpeg

My Lucky Break
Luckily, the RSPCA and my new Mummy Hannah, decided to give me one last try. I went to live with Hannah and Alex in their apartment and I started to get used to living closely with people. I am now used to the normal day to day noises, the tv, getting in a lift, going in the car, socialising with dogs daily on walks, and going to the RSPCA to continue my rehab with staff. I am very dog social so have been used to help multiple dogs with their social skills and learning.

28785260_15225591130_r.jpeg
28785260_15225591530_r.jpeg
28785260_15225596790_r.jpeg
28785260_15225598040_r.jpeg
I don't fear storms or fireworks anymore because I am now an inside dog so it doesn't affect me, I also love my indoor kennel, it is my safe haven. My life is so much better now, I get 3 walks a day, I run off-lead, I swim in the river and run along the beach, I enjoy meeting new people on walks because my confidence has soared. Although I have improved so much in this short space of time, I am still not quite yet "normal" and I will need to continue living with my understanding parents, who I trust and who try not to put me in situations that I cannot cope with.

28785260_15225574950_r.jpeg
28785260_15225575280_r.jpeg
28785260_15225575640_r.jpeg
28785260_15225576140_r.jpeg
28785260_15225592210_r.jpeg
28785260_15225593120_r.jpeg
28785260_15225593770_r.jpeg
28785260_15225576380_r.jpeg
28785260_15225576810_r.jpeg
28785260_15225577240_r.jpeg
28785260_15225577640_r.jpeg
28785260_15225578000_r.jpeg
28785260_15225598610_r.jpeg
28785260_15225600180_r.jpeg

What is the Solution?  
Here's where I need your help to save my life....... 
Mummy Hannah and Daddy Alex are now moving back to the UK to be near their family, and as I am now part of their family, they are planning to take me back with them too. 
I cannot imagine anything better than galloping around the British countryside with their dogs at home, spending time on the farm with the horses, and snuggling up by the fire with the cat on cold British nights. I have my jacket ready!

28785260_15225590350_r.jpeg
I have really thought about this and weighed up the pros and cons, I think I can handle a 24 hour flight in my safe haven for a life of happiness and care-free fun in the UK with my family. I will be on the same flight as my parents and I won't need any quarantine so I can go straight home with my family! 

28785260_15225586550_r.jpeg 

How Can YOU Help?
Unfortunately it is expensive to fly me back to the UK as I'm such a big boy, but every little helps, so PLEASE, if you've ever met me, or if my Mummy has ever helped you with your animals in her life (she is a Doggy Dr), then please please dig deep and help us raise funds for my ticket back to the UK. 

Any help, big or small, with be unbelievably appreciated, 

Thank you for listening to my story, I can't wait for my happy-ever-after!

Love Jack DC

x x x x

28785260_15225578620_r.jpeg

Donations ()

  • Gracie&Slade Soughan 
    • $100 
    • 21 mos
  • Samantha Dole 
    • $40 
    • 23 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $270 
    • 23 mos
  • Susannah Harris 
    • $30 
    • 23 mos
  • Nina Preston 
    • $40 
    • 23 mos
See all

Organizer

Hannah Donovan-Calam 
Organizer
Concord, NSW
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more