Help me change a young man's life.

About me- I am Deb, teacher of 30 years, born in Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland, living and teaching in Australia. Married to Nev and Mum to Ollie and Jake.

About Sophy-I have been corresponding regularly with a young man I met in Cambodia a year ago. Sophy is a similar age to my sons and works like a dog- often  15 hour shifts , 7 days per week. He earns $100 per month . He pays $25 rent and $50 is sent home to support his mum and sister. It leaves him around $1 per day to transport, feed and clothe himself. I have been teaching him by Facebook Chat since January, in the hope that he will be able to find better paid work if he has improved English. It has become clear that unforseen and unavoidable emergencies,like recent dental treatment, sometimes leaves him with insufficient funds to eat. He is so grateful for the help I provide with his English and never asks for money.
My Goal- to  buy a motorised Tuktuk, which it seems would equip him to make enough money to sustain himself.
I am intending to visit him again next year, when I go back to Cambodia to volunteer teach, and will personally ensure that 100% of money raised will go towards this  young man's future.

Thank you so much in helping me in helping him. x
  • Beattie Family 
    • $120 (Offline)
    • 43 mos
  • Jayne Bowden 
    • $25 
    • 44 mos
  • Jayne Evans 
    • $40 
    • 44 mos
  • Nishani Habakkala 
    • $25 
    • 46 mos
  • Takeaway for a TukTuk 5  
    • $200 (Offline)
    • 48 mos
See all

Organizer

Deborah Moran 
Organizer
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more