Help Joy's family with bills, rent and paper work.

Hi to the person reading this.

 

My name is Joy and I'm the eldest son of a family of 5. My mum, me and my 3 little siblings. As of recent my pay has been withheld by work and my work contract will be terminated due to my passport being out of date.

I don't have a British passport. I came from Bangladesh when I was like 3 years old and got given a letter and a stamp on my passport saying I have indefinite leave to remain, which basically means I am a UK resident and I can do the usual stuff anyone else can do without any issues. The only restriction I have is that I can't be out of the UK for more than 2 years or that expires.

My current passport had expired and works asked me for a renewed one which can take up to 2 months. God knows why it takes so long. Works basically put my current month's pay (after working all month) on hold and may even terminate my contract as my contract was meant to renew with them this week. (19/10/2020)

I was initially told by my manager that my contract won't be affected cause its literally just an expired passport and it just needs updating and I just need to send them a confirmation email with the appointment dates and stuff for when I'm sending my reissue papers. I sent my paperwork stuff off today as the office where I was meant to get my passport reissue paperwork done is closed due to Covid tier 3 lockdown. (I live in Manchester)

I sent work the emails confirming my appointment and such and then yesterday (22/10/2020) I get told "Hey you won't get paid this month and you will probably not have a job either."

My family rely on me as its main provider as my mum is on benefits due to arthritis and my siblings aren't old enough to work. They are all still in school. We don't have a dad as he left us years back with no support. Due to being the primary provider for the house and this being my first ever job, I don't have much saved up and I can probably pay for 2 months of rent and that's probably it. I'll probably scrape by paying the internet bill too but my mum is going to have to pay for the rest of the bills which is going to be super difficult for us. We also have a little cat we adopted back in March and I really don't want to send her back to the shelter due to this situation. Shes literally been such a huge help during the lockdown and during my worst times. I cant afford to lose her.

 

The fund provided will help with the bills/rent as well as help paying for updating my passport and getting a BRP. The BRP costs £229 (https://www.gov.uk/biometric-residence-permits/replace-visa-brp in the "You have permission to settle" section) and my passport reissue costs £92 (http://bahcmanchester.org.uk/consular-services/machine-readable-passport/documents-and-fees/ the non refundable fee for a general application)
My rent is around £400 a month which I have enough saved up for to pay for 2 months and that's it. Our internet/phone bill is around £50 a month with virgin media. We use a pay as you go electric and gas meter and we usually use around £10 per week on gas and £15 on electric.

Any sort of help will be really appreciated. Like so much. I have no clue what to do in this situation as this is/was my first job and I have no family members who can help. Me and my mum are basically alone in the UK with my 3 little siblings. The support will mean having some money to not just live off rice and lentil curry for a while or basically having our electric/gas turned off.

I know its alot to ask for during the pandemic and lockdowns. But any little bit will help. Thank you so much for reading this and thank you more if you do decide to donate. The 2 little dudes in the fundraiser pic are my 2 little bros who I adore a lot and I just don't want to see them go through the hardships I went through while I grew up. I had no dad to support me and it was just me and my mum while I grew up. I just wanted to offer my siblings a better life than I got.

Donations

 See top
  • Aaron Down 
    • £10 
    • 1 mo
  • John O'Really 
    • £30 
    • 1 mo
  • Tess Rugg 
    • £10 
    • 1 mo
  • James Law 
    • £15 
    • 1 mo
  • George Benjamin Jones 
    • £30 
    • 1 mo
See all

Organizer

Ferdous Joy 
Organizer
Manchester, North West England, United Kingdom
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more