Help Me afford car insurance

I apologize for the long story but it is a complicated situation I am in. I don't fully expect anyone to read this but I would appreciate any help or advice. 

I am 23 years old living in Oakville, Ontario, Canada. I work in Etobicoke which is a 25 minute drive from my home.  In November of 2018 I was pulled over at 6:00 pm on my way to work by a police officer who gave me three traffic tickets.

One ticket was for going 75 km/h in a 60 zone which I am sure was not true because it was rush hour and there was basically bumper to bumper traffic and I was simply keeping up with everyone else. Another ticket was for failing to come to a complete stop before making a right turn at a red light. Which again doesn't make sense because the light was green as I was turning and turned red after I had made my turn. The final ticket was for not stopping immediately after the officer turned their lights on. I was approaching an intersection as the officer turned on their sirens and I turned on my turn signal and made a right turn where I could pull over safely away from the busy road (The time between when the officer turned their siren on and when I had completely pulled over was less than 30 seconds). The officer told me they've had a lot of people make the same mistake because they think its safer than pulling over on a busy road, and proceeded to ticket me for it anyway. The officer didn't want to hear anything I had to say so I kept quiet as I thought upsetting him would only make matters worse. 

I have been driving since I was 16 and have never been in any accidents, I received one ticket for doing 60km/h in a 50 zone in 2017 because I was unaware of the speed limit. I have always tried to be a safe and careful driver. 

At the time this occurred I was working more than 40 hours per week at my retail job and also doing 5 classes per semester at Sheridan college.  The end of November means black Friday which is the busiest time at my retail job and also when my final exams start coming around for school.  I didn't have the time to fight the tickets in court and after discussing with my parents we realized the tickets didn't have any points towards my license so we thought it wouldn't affect my insurance and we could pay the fines and be done with it. 

About two months later we received a letter in the mail saying my entire family was no longer eligible for car insurance with RBC because I am now classified as a "High Risk driver". The rest of my family members have since found other providers but the only insurance plans I can find are about $800 per month.

I am still working at the same job (although with less hours because it became hard to balance work and a full school load) and attending school online. Unfortunately taking a bus to work isn't an option for me as it takes about 2.5 hours and three different busses to make it one way and I cant fit that around my school schedule.  I tried taking an uber but it costs about $80 per day which is basically my entire income.  For the last year and a half my younger sister who is 19 has been driving me to work, school (before covid) and the gym everyday. In return I have been paying for all of her gas expenses. However she is now working and cannot drive me around anymore and I am not sure what to do. I need an income because I pay for school out of my own pocket and also help my parents with bills and mortgage payments as much I can. 

I don't really have a goal for how much I would like to raise but any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for reading
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more