My Medical Placement in Tanzania


My name is Charlie. I am 17 years old and a lower sixth student at The Mosslands School in Wallasey, Wirral. I am applying to study medicine at university in 2017.

I am raising money to volunteer on a medical placement in  Kilimanjaro, Tanzania.
During my time there I will be placed within the hospital departments, working closely with qualified doctors, while also spending some of my spare time volunteering at the local care home. Assisting in the hospital and at the care home in Africa will open my eyes to the real life struggle and hardship that less developed countries face. This will be a real contrast to my previous placements within the NHS.

I am looking to raise £3000 in order to pay for my flights, accommodation and visa.

Approximate costs;
Placement (Inc. accommodation, food, fees to GapMedics) - £1,395
Return flights - £1,049
Travel insurance - £100
Visa - $250
Vaccinations - £150
Medical equiptment- £50

The placement will take place for two weeks commencing the 14th August. I'm hoping to raise as much as I can as soon as possible in order to secure my place and book my flights.

To be able to go on this placement would mean so much  to me as it will allow me to explore medicine in a different enviroment, whilst also enabling me to stand out from the crowd when applying for medicine at university this September.

Any donation will be hugely appreciated and will allow me to be one step closer to my dream placement and becoming a qualified doctor in the future.

For more information on my placement in Tanzania please visit:

Like many others, I have had family and friends close to me affected by cancer in my past. Because of this I am donating any money raised over my goal to The Clatterbridge Cancer Centre; a cancer hospital local to me that helps save and support thousands of lives each year.

Thank you for reading!

Charlie :)
  • Elaine and Mark 
    • £20 (Offline)
    • 71 mos
  • Graham Franks 
    • £50 
    • 72 mos
  • Wendy and Chris Franks 
    • £500 (Offline)
    • 72 mos
  • Mavis Lane 
    • £10 
    • 72 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • £75 
    • 72 mos
See all


Charlie Franks 
Wallasey, North West England, United Kingdom