Bobbies rehab

Hi, my name is Roland, my wife’s, is Bobbie, and I am a Veteran. I have a hard time asking for help, but here goes.

I am 78 years old and my wife is 73, we will have been married for 55 years on September 16th 2019 and are retired. We bought our house in 2013, in early 2014 my wife had back surgery and hasn’t totally recovered from it and has led to several other surgeries. Her right hip muscle tore loose and had to be reattached.

She had a deep brain simulator installed to help control Parkinson’s tremors. Then she fell and broke her ankle last august, when almost healed from that, she tripped on a table leg and broke her left foot and fractured her pinky toe in December last. She still needs to do rehab to try to get around on her own. She would benefit with an upright walker lite also and be a little more independent and help keep her balance. Most of the time she needs use a wheelchair.

I originally wanted to do many projects on our house, but since all her surgeries, I have been devoting my time to taking care of her. I haven’t been able to keep up with the projects and have gotten in debt further trying to keep the home in good working order. We really would like to stay in this house.

 She hasn’t had most of her teeth, and has trouble with dentures, since we haven’t been able to afford to replace them, and needs oral surgery, and the insurance covers very little of it.

 She still has back and leg pain, nephropathy, and fibromyalgia.

We have $40,000 of debt, mostly on the house and some personal, which takes all our retirement each month to cover the debts. She will need about $25,000 in surgeries too help her recovery, which won’t be covered by insurance.

We are driving a 15 year old car to get to the many Doctors appointments, and can’t get any warranty’s for the drive train, because of the high mileage.

If we can get enough to help my wife to reduce her girth and weight through surgery, and it will help with her recovery. Taking the weight off will help her to exercise to be able to need less help and be more independent, then she might be able to get around more on her own.  It will free up more time for me, so that I can do more around the house, which needs modifications to help her to get around and use the facilities, so some of the money would go to those projects.

We would appreciate any help that is sent.

Thank you, Roland And Bobbie Mares

Donations

 See top
  • Alan Blackford 
    • $500 
    • 7 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $500 
    • 7 mos
  • Vernon Masongsong 
    • $100 
    • 7 mos
  • Salvador Costa Sogas 
    • $10 
    • 8 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $500 
    • 8 mos
See all

Organizer

Roland Mares 
Organizer
Grand Prairie, TX
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more