Jay's Top Surgery Fund!

Hi! My name is Jay- I’m 19, FTM and looking to raise £8000 towards double incision private top surgery (the amount going towards private referral and the surgery itself). I’m a uni student studying Animation and love pretty much anything creative- including art, theatre, fashion/costume design (I made my own binder for my A-level!), DnD and film. 

I have known I am trans since 2012, experiencing increasingly intense gender dysphoria- particularly around my chest. My dysphoria is anxiety inducing and actively effects my day-to-day life; my self confidence has become non-existent, to the point of extreme negative mental health.

After 8 years, I now am pursuing top surgery for my own wellbeing and to start living life as my true self.


Why am I fundraising?

My gender dysphoria has meant that I cannot enjoy simple activities as another young adult my age would and should be able to, such as swimming, going to the beach, summer, wearing the clothes I feel comfortable in, my personal relationships, sports, heck even talking to people and simple interactions.

Although I have in recent years had access to a chest binder, I have been unable to wear it consistently as this has caused me rib and back pain.

Top surgery will allow me to live life fully and vastly improve my quality of life- allowing me to live just as any other young adult should- comfortable in my own skin.

However, living in the UK, despite our healthcare being free- trans healthcare on the NHS is in a dire situation (aside from the government actively trying to remove access to this care as well) and contains extreme waiting lists and gate-keeping (which I may face going through the NHS as I am currently not looking for HRT, this leading to the potential of being denied top-surgery)

I am currently on a NHS waiting list for a Gender Identity Clinic (GIC), and despite choosing a GIC with a lower wait time- still facing between 2-5 years before my initial appointment and another 1-2yrs for my second/third appointments (in which only at these would Top-Surgery be considered as an option and then I would be placed on another list for another year to achieve this). My total waiting time likely being a soul-destroying 4-8 years before top-surgery (I would then be 23-27 years old before being able to live life as myself). 

As the waiting lists are consistently growing, and with the setbacks of COVID 19, it is extremely unlikely that I will receive the surgery I need before the age of 25. 

For these reasons, private healthcare is the only foreseeable route I can go down in order to enjoy my life whilst still a young adult. 

Private top-surgery will allow me to receive surgery considerably sooner and receive better results that I am happy with. Unfortunately, going private for surgery is costly and this is where I need help.

I am a full-time university student, and although I am working outside of my high-contact hour classes to raise money towards my surgery, running my own small business selling art and badges, I have very little income (that is not a student loan of high interest that covers my food and rent/bills) and this is why I’d appreciate any donations, even small.


What will the raised money go towards?

All money raised through this fundraiser will directly go towards a double-incision top-surgery with Mr. Miles Berry- an accredited surgeon, including the surgery itself and consultation (which will cost around £7000 for the surgery, £100 for the consultation).

The remaining £900 will go towards a top-surgery referral from Gender Care (which will be 2-3 sessions with a doctor) and any other expenses such as post-surgery accommodation/binder and travel. This also allows for any cost leeways incase the surgery or any other component costs slightly more than predicted. 

Any remaining funds after my surgery from this fundraiser will be put towards other trans folk’s transition fundraisers. 


How else can I support?

Alternatively- if you wish to help support my top-surgery fund and small business in a different way, you can order pre-designed or custom button badges from my depop (https://www.depop.com/artbloop) or art commissions from my instagram /twitter (@damn_its_jam). 

If are unable to financially donate but would like to help support me, shares of this fundraiser or my shop/social media, linked above, is incredibly appreciated!

Donations

 See top
  • Avi Llio 
    • £10 
    • 5 d
  • Ethan Mudie 
    • £10 
    • 5 d
  • Chell Logan 
    • £10 
    • 6 d
  • Anonymous 
    • £10 
    • 6 d
  • Claire Steward 
    • £20 
    • 14 d
See all

Organizer

Jamie Al 
Organizer
Poole, South West England, United Kingdom
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more