My Family's Hurricane Relief Fund

Hi all, my name is Jonathan Colón. I am a 5th year PhD student in Chemical and Biochemical Engineering at Rutgers university in New Jersey, USA. I was born and raised in Salinas, Puerto Rico, located towards the south-eastern coast of the island where my family currently resides. I have a sister, Jennifer,  who lives in the house where we were raised for the most part of our lives with her two children and husband, Jennieliz, Elier, and Eliezer, respectivley.

24442876_1507240906.3462_funddescription.jpgFrom left to right: Margarita (my Mom), Jennifer and Jennieliz (sister and niece), Orlando (my Dad), myself

After hurricane Maria passed the beautiful island of Puerto Rico was not the same. Massive destruction has taken part on the entirety of the island. My grandmother's house was destroyed (where we also lived for a few years) and everything in it. Fortunately, our house is still standing, but the flooding waters destroyed most things inside our house. After being incommunicated with my family for about 8 days, I finally got the call that my family was alive and healthy, but things are not OK. Power will take months to restore, communications are intermittent and spotty at best. Resources are limited and my family is having a hard time to survive these weeks as federal help comes through.

24442876_1507240691.8951_funddescription.jpgMy grandmother's house with my aunt Vidalina (titi Vidy) after passing of hurricane Maria. She lived in this house for many years until two weeks ago.

Eventhough the devastation brought by this hurricane with its unprecedented damages, you can see my aunt with a smile on her face. Even in the hardest of moments, my family has remained optimist and hopeful of a better tomorrow. This is the reason why I am doing this fundraiser. I want to impact my immediate and extended family as soon as possible. I want to raise these funds, so that I can provide them with much needed items such as: a solar power generator (~$1,500), basic furniture and appliances (like sofa, stove, fridge, beds and bedroom accesories, ~$1,500), food, hygiene products, baby products (for Elier the youngest nephew - he's 2 years old) water purification system and automobile-related expenses ($1,000), clothing, school supplies, and basic m for my family, including niece and nephew ($1,000) plus living expenses for next two months ($2,500). All of this so they can sustain themselves while help comes.

24442876_1507241316.3219_funddescription.jpgMe with baby Elier at the house I grew up in, currently Elier's and my sister's house.

Thank you so much for your support and for your care towards my family!

Sincerely,
Jonathan

  • Rebecca Revilla 
    • $25 
    • 46 mos
  • Casey Noon 
    • $100 
    • 47 mos
  • Megan Hupp 
    • $20 
    • 47 mos
  • Rodolfo Romanach 
    • $150 
    • 47 mos
  • Barbara liberis 
    • $100 
    • 47 mos
See all

Organizer

Jonathan Colon 
Organizer
Salinas, PR
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more