College Tuition and Expenses

My whole life, money and my living situation has affected my ability to become the successful Woman I aspire to be. From being evicted from my house to constantly being dropped out of class due to not being able to pay tuition, I have worked so hard to continue my education. Today, I need help pursuing my dream of helping others through Social Work.

I have recently been accepted to Mount Saint Mary’s University (MSMU). These past two years at Seattle Central College, I have worked hard to stay on the Dean’s list which has earned me a scholarship to transfer to MSMU. However, I am still unable to afford the entire tuition and living expense.

My dream is to become a social worker so I can help others overcome their problems. Through my own experiences, I have realized the importance of maintaining a healthy mindset. Social work is a growing field and I want to be on the cutting edge of helping people build bridges between their current hardships and their traumatic experiences. From my own emotional trauma, I am learning how to use therapy to embrace my experiences. I find beauty in sharing knowledge to inspire and create new perspectives for others.

I believe that MSMU is the best opportunity for me because the all Women’s environment will provide the best education and support to help me accomplish my goal of helping other Women through Social Work.

Currently, I work a part-time job to help pay for my tuition as a full-time student. However, the past two years have been incredibly difficult to pay for school while supporting myself. Despite continuously being dropped out of class due to my financial situation, I have earned this opportunity to attend MSMU and I need all the help I can get!

I don’t qualify for any financial aid because of my parent’s income, but they are unable to provide any assistance for me because of their own financial struggles.

Here are my Tuition expenses for the 2017-2018 school year:

Tuition: $19,804
Dormitory: $6,500
Scholarship Award: $10,000
Loans: $9,500

Total amount to be paid out of pocket (Due Jan. 1, 2018): $7,104

I am currently working to save as much money as I can. I am hoping to raise at least $5,000 to help offset my College expenses.

Please help me pursue my dreams of helping others through the field of social work! Any donations are greatly appreciated!!

Love,
Kayla D.
  • Stephen Perritt  
    • $135 
    • 42 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $25 
    • 44 mos
  • Tyler Bui 
    • $40 
    • 44 mos
  • Arni Rae Buensuceso 
    • $60 
    • 45 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $15 
    • 45 mos
See all

Organizer

Kayla Robin Daffon 
Organizer
Seattle, WA
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more