Help Milla access trans healthcare!

Content warning: gender dysphoria, abuse and bigotry mentions Hi, I’m Milla. On the day of publishing this, I will soon turn 23, a year and a bit after coming out and living full time time as myself (a trans femme). I’ve never been happier. That said I need some help so I can access medical care privately. In the UK, it isn’t visible to get it via the NHS due to 5 year long waiting lists exacerbated by underfunding and COVID. Plus, I could still get denied any trans healthcare if I am ever seen. This is especially concerning for me as I am autistic and diagnosed as such. For any trans person in my position, going private is vital for accessing anything legally, safely and promptly. Because of my existing disability support needs and work related trauma, it will not be easy to pick myself back up regarding employment at the moment. This would be an issue even if the job climate was good, but as it is now the barriers are ten times harder. The UK has just been officially deemed to be in the deepest recession in history. This will only increase with mass redundancies in the coming months and the effects from the Brexit transition period ending this year (no deal is currently the most likely outcome, that will make all of the above worse). I am currently accessing support to help me career wise. However, it does mean I need to hold off on finding work until I have a plan of action to maximise my chances. This may include self employment, I am unsure. I cannot be put into the position of waiting 5 weeks for a Universal Credit payment again. Additionally, anti-trans hostility and concern trolling in the media and political spheres regarding the rights of transgender people to exist don't help. With the possibility of my human rights being rolled back, I need to start medically transitioning sooner rather than later. Once I have an HRT (hormone replacement therapy aka estrogen / the “titty skittles”) prescription in the UK, I will be able to look into working abroad again with the hope of being able to migrate pernamently (or at least get out of England if this isn’t possible). This is so I will be away from the toxicity and have a better quality of life. It will be easier to continue my hormones abroad if I have a UK prescription already. I tried to save the money by myself over the last year and a bit but it did not go well for many reasons, including: - having to flee transphobic, ableist and controlling relatives who didn’t allow me to be myself, eventually becoming homeless - Being failed by services down south to avoid homelessness as they did not take me seriously or discriminated against me, including housing services and a women’s refuge - Being let go from an unsuitable internship by a well meaning employer after seven weeks on disability grounds. I had only applied for it because I thought a job would be my only way out as I was failed so badly. After this I had to leave and sofa surf for over 2 months - Eventually having to get help to move myself and my stuff up to Manchester, which was just before the COVID-19 pandemic escalated in the UK. - Dealing with my homelessness and support needs up here, including trauma from both my abusers and the system. Fortunately services here finally took me seriously, but also meant I was in unsuitable accommodation till late July due to the pandemic. Now I am in temporary accommodation with a fixed address, needing less support than before. Hence I am able to start addressing my medical transition again. To do this by accessing the gender affirming healthcare I need, I am asking for £2,000 to help me kickstart my transition. This is so I can access the following things: - Private gamete storage to freeze my sperm (I can’t get an exact quote until I’ve had a consultation, but would potentially be around £1000 for a storage bundle for at least 3 years, bundles go up to 10 years). I need to do this before starting HRT as it risks me becoming permanently infertile. I want kids when I’m older but if there is no chance of me being able to have them makes me very dysphoric. My autism diagnosis risks me being denied if I try to adopt. - A private HRT prescription - this would entail around £700 for two appointments, one for a gender dysphoria DX and another for a prescription. This would be with a reputable provider, not by importing unregulated hormones from abroad (yes people do this because of how inaccessible the NHS is). This is to maximise my chances of getting a shared care agreement so that my prescriptions and blood tests are done on the NHS. - Laser hair removal for my face. I currently shave daily and it isnt fun and is quite distressing for me to feel facial hair on my face. This would be the cheapest item assuming I can get one of the many half price discounts. - Also cover GoFundMe fees I will try to save money on the above however I can and I am hoping for anything else that I need afterwards I will be able to pay for myself (such as private HRT checkup appointments every 6 months). It is the initial costs that are the most expensive (bar surgery, which is not something I wish to think about at this time). I have had a lot of support over the last year from people on and offline and without that I do not think I would be alive today. I am so grateful for this. One of the best ways people can show support now would be to donate money to help me get the lifesaving, gender affirming care I need. If not, please share this crowdfunder around. Thanks so much, Milla xx

Donations

 See top
  • Natasza Strapko 
    • £10 
    • 2 d
  • Clare Cooper Stickland 
    • £50 
    • 5 d
  • Emily Clark 
    • £10 
    • 29 d
  • Lariisa Stewart 
    • £150 
    • 1 mo
  • Cat B 
    • £15 
    • 1 mo
See all

Organizer

Milla Hawley 
Organizer
Manchester, ENG
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more